Gaya Hidup

[GAYA HIDUP][bigposts]




17 March 2023, North-West London hailing musician Kamal. shared his highly anticipated mixtape so here you are, drowning.

The substantial 10-track project takes us on a perfectly woven journey, as Kamal. treads water in a sea of constant and ever-changing emotion.  

so here you are, drowning’  is the result of almost two years of writing and documenting the specific feeling of trying to stay afloat; the tensions between codependency and martyrdom in a relationship, and ultimately drowning in it all. 

It’s title was inspired by Caleb Azumah Nelson’s phenomenal novel Open Water.’

Accompanying the mixtape release is new single white wine, which lands with an incredible visual, directed by Tyrus (who also worked on “free flow”) and shot whilst Kamal. was suitably submerged underwater.

Speaking on the single, Kamal. states: 

white wine is essentially a memorial to a relationship in the form of a list'.  

The verses simply list specific things that reminded him of an ex-partner, and although the song starts rather optimistically, the second verse highlights some of the more sinister things that provoke those memories.

so here you are, drowning’ tracklist:

  1. free flow
  2. falling
  3. better
  4. so so close
  5. sex on you
  6. essential
  7. white wine
  8. crowded places
  9. leave me alone
  10. drown

On a rapid trajectory and in his 2.0 era, multi-instrumentalist, Kamal. is Ivor Novello-award nominated, has collaborated with Dave, and amassed an awe-inspiring 250 million streams.  

Earlier this year, Kamal. shared singles essentialand free flow, the two tracks to be shared before the arrival of the forthcoming mixtape, with “essential” being his fastest streaming song to date. 

Produced by J Moon, the single was tinged with Kamal.’s usual romantic sentiment; however it focused on the ending of a deep love - a love that you thought was essential. 

“free flow” by contrast muses on the extreme emotion you feel when you first start dating someone; wondering where you stand, painting a picture of yourself, laying yourself bare.

Kamal.’s music chronicles both the highs and lows of life. His lyrical content spans romantic relationships, the seclusion of your own mind, the repetitive, the mundane, and even derealisation and anxiety. 

Often relating to the more complicated yet familiar feelings, Kamal.’s lyrics have the ability to hold the listener’s hand through shared experience. He is a truly exceptional storyteller. 

Whilst the new music is a developed sound from Kamal., it also weaves a cohesive thread with his back-catalogue. 

Kamal.’s music has always been a dose of sweet honey vocals, offered on a sharp knife of realism and honesty, and since his highly anticipated debut EP ‘war outside’ at the end of 2021, Kamal.’s new music has followed seamlessly  in the footsteps  of previous offerings, including the ethereal cliff-top soaring single “lose”, “blue”, fan favorite “homebody”, and of course, the Top-40 single Mercury, his collaboration with Brit Award winning rapper Dave. 

Kamal. was always destined to be a musician. A skilled pianist, his early influences were found in the likes of Maxwell, D’Angelo, Erykah Badu and Bill Withers

Formulating his own sound, he first began to compose tracks to his ukulele and in 2019, uploaded his first recorded song -smilingdownthephoneon soundcloud. 

Since then, he hasn’t looked back - garnering co-signs from the likes of NME, British GQ, British Vogue, i-D, Dazed and more.

The voice of a generation, Kamal. moves with the vision and presence of someone much older than his years. 

A truly unique artist, his innate musical talent has placed him firmly on the map. ‘so here you are, drowning’ is an inimitable release that propels Kamal. ever-further into the musical stratosphere. 

Follow Kamal.’s journey on Instagram Here.

#Kamal. #SoHereYouAreDrowning #Music #Mixtape #Essential #FreeFlow #fyp

Tiada ulasan:

Catat Ulasan